Reviews of Traventuria Ltd.

reviews about traventuria hiking tours
4.9
4.9 rating
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 321 reviews)
Excellent89%
Very good9%
Average2%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Great trip with unforgettable views

5.0 rating
October 5, 2019

Read the original review on TripAdvisor
We booked this day trip experience in August and it did not disappoint. As our group was large, we split into two smaller groups so there were 7 in total in our group. This made it very manageable and created a great atmosphere as everyone was friendly and chatted to each other which made the long hike go much quicker!
There are two somewhat strenuous climbs on this trip – one at the start and then one to reach the two highest lakes. Although we did the climb in trainers, walking boots and maybe a walking pole for grip are recommended as it was slippery in parts. When we reached the top however, it was worth it as the views over the Seven Rila Lakes were unforgettable!
Our guide gave us the option to go a different route on the return to see all of the lakes up close. This was great, although it meant that there was a long queue for the chairlift down which meant that we got the monastery later than planned and all but the main museum was shut. Although this did not bother us too much as we were still able to walk through the grounds, those who want to experience everything inside the monastery might find that this trip tries to pack too much into one day. On the whole however, it was a very enjoyable (although very long!) day out. Thank you Traventuria for a very enjoyable day trip.

Kiera

Well-spent 12 days!

5.0 rating
October 1, 2019

Annie was our guide and she was more than we expected! She taught us how to dance Bulgarian folklore dance, how to prepare cold soup from cucumbers and yogurt and what is “martenitsa” I expected to learn more about Bulgaria, but not to feel it with my own body! It was perfect!  She was also very funny and always smiling, our 5-year old twins love her from the first minute and they even cried when we had to say goodbye! The tour itself is suitable for people who would love to spend time in remote areas, meanwhile to explore some of the must-see sites in a country. The walking treks were easy to moderate and even for children they were ok! There are some spa stops, which my parents really enjoyed! I could say that the tour is ok for persons of all ages, it has everything for everyone! Also, big thanks to Traventuria staff! They are very competitive, easy-going and helpful! My mother forgot her glasses in the last hotel we have been so they managed to take them and send us back home. 

Marta Baer, Israel

Highly recommended!

5.0 rating
September 25, 2019

Read the original review on TripAdvisor
I can only recommend this tour as you get to see two of Bulgaria’s most popular attractions in a single day.
Our guide and driver Petar was very knowledgeable and he remained enthusiastic and friendly throughout the tour which is quite long (12 h).
I suggest bringing a warm jacket and adequate hiking shoes. Also bear in mind that there is quite a bit of driving (about 4 hours in total) but the views are great most of the time. Cash is needed for the chairlift (20lev per person).

Asier G, USA

Brilliant trip!

5.0 rating
September 22, 2019

A very interesting and mystic place to be. We are glad we chose this mainly because of the help of the staff. We wanted long but not difficult hikes, with more chances to observe rare birds and endemic flowers, sleep in small accommodations but not big hotels. And that’s exactly what we got! Thanks for the advice! 

Jeff Watson, USA

Awesome Experience!

5.0 rating
September 20, 2019

Read the original review on TripAdvisor
We reached the meeting point on time, and they were waiting. At 7:00 we started moving, as promised.
Our guide (Angel) was so kind and patient! He explained and answered all of our questions.
Stunnig views. Worth every minute.
I would recommend going with this company, and you’ll be lucky if Angel is your guide.

Victorkh, Ramla, Israel

Cool!

5.0 rating
September 13, 2019

Wow, it was very spectacular! I am pretty amazed that Bulgaria has so much diversity of landscapes! I have been twice to the sea coast and to be honest I thought that was all that the country could offer as a tourism. Such a shame! Bulgaria is very colorful and full of surprises!
The hike was a bit difficult but I am well-trained and with my friends we did a great job, guided by Chris – the funniest person I have ever met!
Be prepared with enough clothes for warm and even chilly weather. At Vihren summit it was a bit colder than I expected and I am glad I got my jacket and a sweater as well.
After the first hike one of my friends decided he will need trekking poles (which he could have rented in prior as well) but luckily, they managed to ensure a pair immediately.
One of the evenings we have a special folklore night with some local grannies who sang traditional songs and cooked us a dinner and it was soooooo delicious that we ate like pigs!
It was perfect short break! I loved it!

Chris Hansen, Sweden

Impressive self-guided walking

5.0 rating
September 13, 2019

We had an excellent week of walking in Bulgaria. Everything worked well, the accommodations were mostly good, breakfasts were sufficient and the luggage transfers worked well. The scenery varied a lot – from shrub-covered hills with endless herbs and wildflowers to craggy peaks rocky trails carpeted with moss, as well as very impressive lake and river valleys.

Lotte Verbeke, Belgium

summer trip in bg mountains

5.0 rating
September 13, 2019

Excellent! The trails are very nice, I could say spectacular! The mountains – green, clean and challenging!
I am grateful that I did this self-guided tour!

Melanie Robinson, Ireland

No words to describe this!

5.0 rating
September 11, 2019

We choose to go to Scary Lake and did not regret it for a minute! The trip is tiring because you have to get up very early but besides that, it is an amazing experience being in the mountains! When we reached the hut we decided to make a 30-minute break not because we were tired but because of the outstanding surroundings. We got a tea outside at the benches admiring the deep valley and the peak in front of us. The lush greeny, the landscape, the warmth of the sunlight, everything seemed so coherent. You could hear the chorus of the pleasant-sounding birds. There were not any other people as it was Wednesday morning! A tip from us – if you want to enjoy the serenity of nature in a foreign country, always choose to hike on weekdays and avoid Saturday/Sunday.  When we reached the Scary Lake I totally forgot about all my worries, I lost track of time for a while. There no words to describe what I felt sitting by the shores of the turquoise-blue waters and looking ahead the jaggy peaks. I wish everyone could experience the inner peace and undoubtedly this place could help you reach it. Big thanks to Todor, our guide! Thanks, Traventuria! 

Laura Hoffmann, Germany

Excellent day tour

5.0 rating
September 3, 2019

We booked this trip as self-guided and we went to the Scary Lake. The route notes and the map they gave us were very clear and easy to follow.
In fact, along the itinerary for the Scary Lake there is another lake, bigger and very calm. We stayed there for very long time and saw wild goats on the opposite side of it (unfortunately, not reachable). 10/10 experience! Next time we consider doing the peak! We are in love in Rila mountain!

Lena Hanson, UK